Located in the beautiful historic village of Warkworth on the Northumberland Coast, the Hermitage Inn is
an 18th Century Grade II listed building. It has been an Inn since it was first built and a 'Hermitage Hotel'
is marked on the 1st Edition Ordnance Survey Map dated 1860. Located adjacent to the Market Place near
the junction between Castle Street and Bridge Street, the Hermitage Inn has been at the centre of village
life in Warkworth and continues to play a key role in the life of this vibrant and notable village.
Inside the Hermitage, guests can appreciate the tastefully restored decor and surroundings which give
clues to the Inn’s long history and status in the village.
The Hermitage Inn takes its name from the Hermitage – a late medieval cave and the chapel of a solitary
hermit which is located half a mile from Warkworth Castle on the River Coquet and accessible only by boat.
Click here to read more about Warkworth Hermitage
Warkworth lies on the north-east coast of England in mid-
Northumberland with the River Coquet running west-east through
the parish. The most prominent and well known monument is the
medieval Warkworth Castle, however the oldest known remains can
be attributed to Bronze Age burial sites at Sturton Grange and at
Walkmill. In the Iron Age there is thought that there was a fort on
the site that is now occupied by the medieval castle. The original
fort dominated the coast and also guarded the entrance to the
Coquet and the horseshoe shaped river with the castle at its ‘neck’
protected the settlement.
The first known settlers in Warkworth (or Wercewode as it was once called) were the Anglo-Saxons due to
the fragments of a cross found in the River Coquet and other artefacts suggesting the presence of a
church. The village was once of the five given to King Ceolwulph in AD 737 when he entered the
monastery at Lindisfarne. Warkworth flourished in the medieval period when it was a harbour and market
town, it lies in a loop of the River Coquet and still retains a basic medieval layout, having a medieval
defended bridge together with a gatehouse at the north end of the village, leading up the main street to
the imposing castle on the highest point at the south end of the village.
The blackest day in the history of Warkworth was 13 July 1174 when the Earl of Fife together with King
William the Lion of Scotland, put 300 Warkworth residents who had sought refuge in the Church of St
Lawrence to death. On 7th October1715 the Jacobites under the orders of General Forster proclaimed the
Pretender as King of Great Britain at the Market Cross – a plaque marking this event can be seen in the
village near the Market Cross in Dial Place.
Most of the buildings in the centre of the village on Castle Street and Bridge Street were built in the 18th
and 19th centuries and the architecture in the centre of the village has changed very little over the years.
To discover more about Warkworth visit warkworthvillagenorthumberland.co.uk